2012 Skylark Shared in Maine

Winslow, Maine writers Sharon Lee and Steve Miller are sharing this years 2012 Skylark Award.

The Edward E. Smith Memorial Award for Imaginative Fiction (the Skylark) is presented annually by the New England Science Fiction Association, Inc. (NESFA) to some person, who, in the opinion of the membership, has contributed significantly to science fiction, both through work in the field and by exemplifying the personal qualities which made the late “Doc” Smith well-loved by those who knew him.

The award consists of a trophy with a large lens. The winner of the award is chosen by vote of the Regular members of the New England Science Fiction Association, Inc.

Although usually awarded to just one person, writing teams have won the prize two other times since the prize was first given out in 1966.

Previous winners include Frederik Pohl, Poul Anderson, Gene Wolf, Jane Yolen, Tamora Pierce, and Sir Terry Pratchett. A complete list of winners can be found at the NESFA site, here.

Isotropic Discussion

Got something to say? Here's the place to do it. Don't let a touch of visiobibliophobia or prosopobibliophobia stop you from being heard.